Home > Admin > NaNoWriMo and Dealing with Life

NaNoWriMo and Dealing with Life

It is day 15 of NaNoWriMo and I find myself having written just shy of 27,000 words.

NaNoWriMo is an exercise in discipline and planning, about making time for the hardest part of writing – the mechanical placing of words on the page.

Ideas are easy. If you get yourself in the right frame of mind, they can bubble up from inside you spontaneously. The trouble is that the majority of ideas you have won’t work in their raw form. No. They need to be beaten and shaped into something that makes sense, pinned to the board of causality, common sense or narrative rhythm.

That’s the trouble I’ve always had as an amateur. I think much faster than I can write, but I don’t do so in a very linear way, so when it comes time to write, I have to slow down and organise my thoughts. It’s the very basis of communication, but I find it frustrating.

I find if I’m on a roll, I can push out the daily quota without too much disruption to my daily schedule. On days when I can’t think what to write or how to fix something I have written, however, it can be a nightmare of unproductive hours spent staring at a screen.

To remedy this, I’ve taken a bit of advice that I found useful. When the story is going nowhere, have ninjas attack!

Categories: Admin Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

